Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: Authors from U-Z

Top 5 Tuesday is hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Bookworm.

March’s theme is author recommendations in alphabetical order, and so far I haven’t caved from trying to come up with names.

I’ve left the entry for X blank because I couldn’t think of or find an author I’d heard of with a name starting with that letter.


U

Pumpkin Pie (Diary, #6)

V

Out of Bounds (Inspector Karen Pirie, #4)

W

Charlotte's Web

X

Y

Everything, Everything

Z

The Book Thief
Posted in Weekly Wrap Up

Weekly Wrap Up #2

Two posts in one week? If I keep this up, I’m going to set a standard for myself.


February Reads:

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #2)

I moved onto the second Miss Peregrine novel almost as soon as I’d finished the first, and equally enjoyed it.

Five Feet Apart

After watching the film on Netflix, I really wanted to find out if the book told us what happened to Will. It did, and I am so happy I caved to curiosity, even if it did mean abandoning my other reads to get some answers.

The Institute

March Reads

All the Light We Cannot See
Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #3)

The third Miss Peregrine novel was too tempting to pass up on after I finished the second, and I got through it fairly quickly.

What I’m currently reading:

I’ve been putting off finding out why and how Evelyn Hardcastle had seven deaths, and finally started reading it after I finished All The Light We Cannot See.

I’m about a third of the way in, and I can definitely see myself getting to a point near the end where I won’t want to put it down until I’ve finished it.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Next Up:

So with the UK on lockdown for three weeks, and myself in self-isolation for three months due to my health, I have nothing but free time to occupy until I go back to work at the end of it.

After I finish Miss Peregrine 3 & find out who really has it in for Evelyn Hardcastle, I’m undecided on what I’m going to choose for my next read, but have a few options.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - 9781408855676
Natural Causes (Inspector McLean, #1)
Posted in Reads Rated

Reads Rated: All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Finishing All The Light We Cannot See has been another one of those cases where hindsight has turned up in all its smug glory and made me question why I didn’t read this sooner.


All the Light We Cannot See

Synopsis

Marie-Laure lives in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where her father works. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, Werner Pfennig, an orphan, grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find that brings them news and stories from places they have never seen or imagined. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments and is enlisted to use his talent to track down the resistance.


//What I Liked//

The story alternated between the end of the story and the beginning > I first read a novel like this called I’ll Give You The Sun, and after I got over my initial confusion, I loved it.

So I was happy to find it again, and loved how it was used to tell the story.

It’s not clear cut whose side you should be on > The first point I mentioned above about the jump through various points in the story’s timeline meant we get a unique look at the characters’ development.

We see Werner initially caught up in the romance of his work for the German army, and then ever so slowly, the cracks start to appear and he begins to question what his role really is and what sort of person that makes him.

This is the first time I’ve read a novel like this, and by the end of it, I was just as invested in what was going to happen to Werner as I was to Marie-Laure and her uncle Etienne, who took part in the French resistance.

The relationship between Marie-Laure & her father > I’ve been reading a lot of YA recently, so it was refreshing to read about a teenager who had a healthy relationship with a parent, and openly and willingly admitted to loving them and accepted their care.

Werner, and his sister Jutta > It was interesting to watch as Jutta’s ideas and opinions on the war and what the German army was doing slowly became Werner’s, but I also liked the simplicity of their family dynamic in the beginning, when they’re both still kids and get to act like it.

The brief glimpses we get into the characters’ lives after the war is over > it really brought everything into perspective at the end of the fighting, because life has to go back to how it was before and we get to see this through the eyes of some of the main characters.

We get to learn how they’ve changed, how they’re adjusting to their old lives, and how they’re dealing with everything that happened to them, and it was such a fitting ending that everybody got their own resolution.

//I could have done without…//

I’m going to leave this part of my review blank for the simple reason that I can’t think of anything, and to pick something would be just to have something to write about.

Rating

5/5

All The Light We Cannot See was heartwarming and beautiful and completely deserving of all the awards it’s won. If you haven’t read it and you’re looking for a novel set during the second world war, this is the one for you.


Goodreads

Amazon/ Book Depository/ Waterstones

Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: Authors from P-T

I can’t believe it’s almost the end of another month, and we’re almost into April already. January felt like it was never ending, and now it’s as if someone has pressed the fast-forward button on a TV remote to compensate.

This is week 4 of March’s Top 5 Tuesday, which is a meme hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Bookworm.

March’s theme is author recommendations in alphabetical order, and so far I haven’t caved from trying to come up with names.


P

The Overstory

Q

The Huntress

R

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

S

10 Minutes 38 Seconds in this Strange World - 9780241293867

T

The Chalk Man
Posted in WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday #4

Aside from taking part in Top 5 Tuesday, I haven’t been posting much on here so I thought I would change that today. Plus, I wanted something to do other than watch the news and hear even more Covid-19/ Corona Virus stories.

I hope all of you are well and keeping yourselves and your loved ones safe.


WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words.

To take part, all you need to do is answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

IMG_1384-0

(All book covers will take you to the Book People website. There are no affiliate links in this blog.)


What are you currently reading?

It’s taking me a lot longer than expected to get through All The Light We Cannot See, because I’ve been reading other books at the same time and abandoning it for them.

But I would like to get it finished before the end of the month, so fingers crossed.

All the Light We Cannot See - 9780008138301

What did you recently finish reading?

Hollow City - 9781594746123

What do you think you’ll read next?

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - 9781408855676
The Mars Room - 9781910702673
Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: Authors from K- O

I’m back with another Top 5 Tuesday post, which is a meme hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Bookworm.

March’s theme is author recommendations in alphabetical order, and so far I haven’t caved from trying to come up with names.


K

I’m fairly sure Karen McManus has appeared enough on this blog already, so I don’t think I need to explain myself on why she’s on yet another book-related list.

Two Can Keep a Secret by [McManus, Karen]

L

I’ve only read one of Mackenzi Lee’s books (The Gentleman’s Guide) but for Monty and Percy’s relationship alone, you need to read this gem if you like YA romance/ historical fiction.

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Montague Siblings, #1)

M

M. Ruth Myers is the author of the Maggie Sullivan mystery series, which is set in the 1940’s. They’re fun and fast-paced, and perfect for fans of Marvel’s Agent Carter.

No Game For a Dame (Maggie Sullivan Mystery #1)

N

I haven’t read anything else of Jo Nesbo’s, but I loved this retelling of Macbeth and needed to include him here for it.

Macbeth (Hogarth Shakespeare)

O

I’ve picked James Oswald as my ‘O’ author for two reasons. One is that I love the Inspector McLean series, and the 10th instalment has just recently been published and I managed to get myself a signed copy via Waterstones, and two is that I’m a teensy bit biased when it comes to crime writers from Scotland, because I’m also from Scotland my go-to genre is always crime, so the two are perfect together.

Natural Causes (Inspector McLean, #1)
Posted in Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday: Authors from F-J

So we’re on week 2 of Bionic Bookworm’s Top 5 Tuesday for March, and my tbr list has surpassed double digits.

Maybe by week 4 I’ll be too much of a wreck that I won’t be able to add anything else to my Goodreads tbr list?


F

I hadn’t heard of Lucy Foley before The Hunting Party appeared on Netgalley and my request for an arc was approved, but she’s now on my very short list of authors whose books I’ll preorder without knowing anything about them other than the title.

The Hunting Party

G

This was another accidental find on Amazon, and while there were a couple of plotholes (which I admittedly didn’t notice until I read a review that brought them to my attention) I loved the story and Alison Gervais’ writing.

In 27 Days

H

If you only ever read one thriller in your life, read this one. And then maybe the sequel, whenever it gets released.

I Am Pilgrim: The bestselling Richard & Judy Book Club pick by [Hayes, Terry]

I

This was the first and only fantasy novel I read on 2018, so that alone warrants Ian Gregoire kudos. His writing and characters earns him more.

The Exercise Of Vital Powers (Legends of the Order, #1)

J

I have never been so taken aback by a book’s ending as when I finished Three Things About Elsie. Because damn. What. A. Plot Twist.

Three Things About Elsie